Skip to content

Waterloo Siskins are Sutherland Cup Champions!

Alec Tiley scored 15:30 into overtime to clinch Waterloo's first GOJHL title since 1994
Siskins celebrate
The Waterloo Siskins celebrate a Cherrey Cup in this file photo. They added more hardware with the 2019 Sutherland Cup Championship. Mark Pare/KitchenerToday

For the first time in 25 years, the Waterloo Siskins are Sutherland Cup Champions.

Alec Tiley scored 15:30 into overtime to give the Siskins a 3-2 win over the London Nationals in Game 7 of the championship final.

It was an innocent shot at the net from the blue line, beating Nationals netminder Zachary Springer (video below).

London's Cal Davis and Waterloo's Curtis Rawn exchanged second period goals to make it a tie game going into the final frame.

Davis scored just 10 seconds into the third to give London the lead, but Sam Spaedt replied with a power play marker with just over four minutes to go in regulation to send it to extra time.

Matt Onuska stopped 33 shots to snag the win, and was named GOJHL Playoff MVP.

Springer registered 33 saves in the losing effort.


Mark Pare

About the Author: Mark Pare

Read more
Rogers Media
230 The Boardwalk Kitchener, ON, N2N 0B1 © 2006-2020 Rogers Media. All rights reserved.