Skip to content

No local names on Premier Ford's cabinet (update)

The Conservatives won three of five ridings in Waterloo Region
Ontario cabinet

The Conservatives took three of five ridings in Waterloo Region in this month's provincial election, but none of those new MPP's will be part of Premier Doug Ford's cabinet.

Ford and his government was officially sworn in on Friday morning.

The new cabinet ministers are:

  • Peter Bethlenfalvy - President of the Treasury Board
  • Raymond Cho - Minister for Seniors and Accessibility
  • Steve Clark - Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Christine Elliott - Minister of Health and Long-Term Care and Deputy Premier
  • Victor Fedeli - Minister of Finance and Chair of Cabinet
  • Doug Ford - Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Merrilee Fullerton - Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities
  • Ernie Hardeman - Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Sylvia Jones - Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport
  • Lisa MacLeod - Minister of Children, Community and Social Services and Minister Responsible for Women's Issues
  • Monte McNaughton - Minister of Infrastructure
  • Caroline Mulroney - Attorney General and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs
  • Rod Phillips - Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks
  • Greg Rickford - Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Minister of Indigenous Affairs
  • Laurie Scott - Minister of Labour
  • Todd Smith - Minister of Government and Consumer Services, and Government House Leader
  • Lisa Thompson - Minister of Education
  • Michael Tibollo - Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services
  • Jim Wilson - Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade
  • John Yakabuski - Minister of Transportation
  • Jeff Yurek - Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry

The local Conservative MPP's who were elected in Waterloo Region were Mike Harris Jr. (Kitchener-Conestoga), Amy Fee (Kitchener South-Hespeler) and Belinda Karahalios (Cambridge).

However, Fee was named Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Children, Community, and Social Services (Children and Autism) and Karahalios becomes Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Children, Community, and Social Services (Community and Social Services).

Catherine Fife (NDP) was re-elected in Waterloo and Laura Mae Lindo (NDP) took the riding of Kitchener-Centre. 

Rogers Sports & Media
230 The Boardwalk Kitchener, ON, N2N 0B1
© 2006-2021 Rogers Sports & Media. All rights reserved.